A Life Lesson from Losing My Father

Eray ALTILI
8 min readFeb 14, 2021

Unfortunately, I have lost my father on February 1st 2021. Unfortunately, a food congested his throat despite all emergency actions taken and hospitalized immediately which there is a hospital right in front of where he lives. Although he had some health issues, he was genetically strong, he was able to manage everything by himself and he even recovered from COVID-19.

Me and my family will always have his grief. Hopefully we will overcome the pain by time. There are things in life that you can not express by words and you will experience it when you go through. Things like marriage, children and loss of beloved ones are unique to everyone and cannot be described by words from my point of view.

Beyond his ups and downs, right doings, wrong doings, mistakes, correctness he was my hero like most fathers are heroes of their children. He has been great father, a mentor, a best friend, a guiding hand and super hero always supporting us.

He was an obstetrician/gynecologist who helped many people to start life journey including myself. He came from poverty and lost his father early. He did overcome many difficulties in his life and thanks to him that me and my brother had decent childhood. He was the one brought PC with 80286 Intel Processor and after seeing my interest in computers he got me a private teacher which I learnt DOS and so on when I was primary school. This is obviously a turning point of my life which I came out as a son of my parents.

--

--

Eray ALTILI

I am passionate about Technology, Cloud Computing, Machine Learning, Blockchain and Finance. All opinions are my own and do not express opinions of my employer.